Yamou's biography

Yamou was born in 1959 in Casablanca

Student at la Sorbonne, Yamou graduated with a degree in Moroccan contemporary art. In the late 80’s, he sets up his workshop in the Parisian suburb and begins his aesthetic adventure.

From his early paintings, nature is in the center of his artistic preoccupation, in the mediums that he uses as in the subjects he depicts, abstract as well as figurative. He creates a pictorial garden of which he infinitely exploits all the possibilities.

The artist grows plants in his works, as to turn them in living space. It is not so much the landscape mastery that motivates his approach than the dive into details. To depict the floral kingdom, he represents interlacing of lianas or stems, germinations, foliage, pistils, corollas and fruits, and, finally, goes back to the seed. Sometimes leafy, sometimes barren, plants give peaceful strength to Yamou’s paintings and evolve, weightlessly, in his pictorial world.

Yamou also creates sculptures. His characters shaped like cactus and covered in nails were acclaimed by international art magazines. In his recent paintings, the artist takes a keen interest in the organic world. Petals and corolla seem to be examined through the microscope that are Yamou’s eyes, in order to reveal their inside luxuriance. Yamou has never been so closed to the frontier separating figurative from abstraction.

Yamou lives and works between Paris and Tahannaout.

Back to Yamou

Biographie de Yamou

Yamou est né en 1959 à Casablanca.

Etudiant à la Sorbonne, Yamou obtient un DEA consacré à l’art contemporain au Maroc. A la fin des années 1980, il installe son atelier dans la banlieue parisienne et entame son aventure esthétique.

Dès ses premières œuvres, la nature a toujours occupé une place prédominante, que ce soit dans les matières qu’il emploie ou les sujets qu’il représente. Yamou crée ainsi un jardin pictural dont il exploite les possibilités à l’infini.

L’artiste cultive des plantes dans la matière de ses tableaux, comme pour transformer l’œuvre en lieu de vie. Ce n’est pas tant la maîtrise du paysage qui motive sa démarche que la plongée dans le détail. Pour figurer la vie des plantes, l’artiste peint des entrelacs de lianes, de tiges, des germinations, frondaisons, pistils, corolles et fruits, pour enfin remonter à la graine. Tantôt feuillues, tantôt nues, les plantes confèrent une force tranquille aux tableaux de Yamou et évoluent, comme en apesanteur, dans son univers pictural.

Yamou réalise aussi des sculptures. Ses personnages, sous forme de cactus criblés de clous, ont été salués par des revues d’art internationales. Dans ses peintures récentes, l’artiste s’intéresse au monde organique. Les pétales, corolles passent sous le crible du microscope de l’œil de l’artiste pour révéler leurs richesses intérieures. Yamou n’a jamais été aussi près des frontières qui séparent la figuration de l’abstraction.

Yamou vit et travaille entre Paris et Tahannaout.

Retour à Yamou